Home | Site Map



SAAS-STAS Award for Excellence in Science Teaching 2014
(Outstanding Science Teacher Award - OSTA)

This Award recognises teachers who are role models in the teaching and learning of Science. Principals may nominate outstanding teachers for this Award. The Outstanding Science Teacher Award (OSTA) is sponsored by the Singapore Association for the Advancement of Science (SAAS) and Science Teachers Association of Singapore (STAS).

Nominations for the OSTA 2014 are open from 27 January to 28 March 2014.

Please refer to the information sheet on pages 2-3 for the details of the Award. The nomination form must be completed and submitted to STAS in 4 sets of hard copy (non-returnable) at the following address:

The SAAS-STAS Award Secretariat
(Outstanding Science Teacher Award)
Attention: Irene Tan, Master Teacher/Chemistry
Academy of Science Teachers
2, Malan Road
Singapore 109433

Closing date: 28 March 2014

We regret that incomplete or late submissions will not be accepted.

Click here for the soft copy of the nomination forms:

Distinguished Science Lecture Series

The Distinguished Science Lecture Series is a new event jointly organised by the Science Teachers’ Association of Singapore (STAS) and the Science Centre Singapore for Science teachers. The main objective of the series is to give Science teachers / educators more opportunities to interact and listen to eminent Science educators, Science Researchers and Scientists. Science teachers / educators, in particular can gain insights into the research work and backgrounds of the speakers and how they can enthuse more students to further their interest in Science which could lead to research work or other careers which require scientific knowledge. Ideas on the type of research which students can work on for science projects could also be gleaned from these talks in addition to networking opportunities with scientists and researchers. The inaugural lecture was delivered by Professor Leo Tan, Professor of Biological Sciences, and Director of Special Projects, Faculty of Science, National University of Singapore, in September 2013.

The next lecture will be delivered by Professor Andrew Wee who is presently the Dean of the Faculty of Science (NUS), Director of the Surface Science Laboratory, and Adjunct Scientist at the Institute of Materials Research and Engineering (A*STAR, Singapore) in March 2014.

Venue: Maxwell Auditorium, Science Centre Singapore
Date: Friday, 28 March 2014
Time: 3:00p.m. - 5.30p.m.

The event is open to all Science teachers / educators of Primary and Secondary schools, Junior Colleges and Centralised Institute. There is no limit to the number of participants from each institution. As registration will be processed on a first-come-first-served basis, schools are encouraged to register early in order to avoid disappointments. The closing date for registration is 3 March 2014. For further information, please e-mail Ms Cecilia Lim at Lim_Seok_Cheng@moe.gov.sg.

Click here for the detailed information:
STAS Distinguished Sci Lec Series (Letters to Sch)
Registration Form

Shell Singapore Youth Science Festival

SSYSF Science Camp 2014

SSYSF Stage! 2014